We have received letters from many of our friends (tourists and travelers who visited Thailand, Myanmar, Laos and Cambodia using our services). Many of them keep coming back to us. Below are some of these letters. We do not show email addresses to protect our friends' privacy.

03 Dec 2001
Dear Mr. Shein,

I would like to thank you very much for all the arrangements. I have been very impressed how professional and efficient everything was. Both with arranging visas, land services and of course everything in Myanmar. We were upgraded at the hotel and received very good service. One day tour we made to Pagoda was very nice. Please send our most sincere thanks to your colleagues in Yangon. Thank you once again and hope to send you clients also in the future.

Kind regards,
Eda Odenberg

04 January 2002
Dear Shein,

This is just to inform you that I have appreciated very much my trip to myanmar; everything was well prepared, the tour guides were good professionals and indeed I enjoyed my journey over there. definitely I will recommend your company to my friends wishing to visit myanmar in the future. All the best and thanks for your commitment to this issue.

Jorge Sobral

25 March 2002
Dear Shein,

This is a quick note to inform you that we arrived back in Australia and that our trip was completed without any problems. We were very pleased with the arrangements that you had prepared for us and would certainly act as a reference for you should that ever be required. All the very best for the future and should we, our our family, travel to Burma or Thailand we will be in contact with you.
Best regards,

John and Diana

25 Nov 2002

I have the pleasure of informing you that both Sophia Robineault and myself thoroughly enjoyed our travels in Myanmar thanks to the support and services received through KSSW Travel Service. Feedback on the exact details/experiences of our travels were provided to Mr. U Shein Lin Oo upon our return to Yangon.
Kind regards,

Margret Verwijk,
Royal Netherlands Embassy,

20 Dec 2002
Hello Terry.

I was very pleased with KSS Wise Ltd services. Shein was on time, reliable, and efficient. He also employed staff and subcontractors who were equally as good! I designed a custom itinerary for a group of 24 passengers to Thailand and used Shein for only a portion of it (the 2 night trek and hilltribe homestay outside of Mae Hong Son and a rural authentic beach stay on Koh Libong off the shore of Trang). They were both highlights of our trip.

One of the reasons I went with Shein was because I felt he could provide a very authentic program as a Thai businessman. I prefer working with local people who know the land, know the people, and know the "off the beaten path excursions" that many of the larger tour companies don't have the time or energy to investigate.

This was absolutely what I received. We were presented with experiences that many tourists will never get. I do think, however, that the Thai people (Shein and his contractors included) perceive something very different with regard to physical abilities "i.e. mild versus moderate versus difficult trek". Our trek was much more difficult than we had envisioned.

It was fabulous and looking back not as horrible as it seemed, but I would be very prepared to expect 1-2 grades more difficult that what they say. Thai people are in much better physical shape than Americans and are capable of outperforming physically. Overall, we were very pleased with Shein's services. I think you will be too. If you have additional questions or need some additional help orchestrating your itinerary, I would be happy to help.

Teresa A. Beall, Travel Design Consultant
Expeditions, Inc.
155 Jaybird Lane ~ Paradise, California 95969
Retail Store - 1950 East Twentieth Street ~ Chico, California 95928
530-872-0366 (Home Office Phone & FAX - 8am-8pm PST)
530-518-6999 (Cellular)
530-345-6939 (Agency)

09 Jan 2003
Hello Shein,

Happy New Year!
We are back in Tokyo. We met your brother in Yangon and had a wonderful time. Thanks for all your help. If some of our friends want to visit your country we will advise them to contact you.

Mr. Mario Antolinez

15 March 2003

Hi! We just wanted to thank you for all the arrangements you made for us in Myanmar. We certainly enjoyed our stay there, and we found the Burmese very hospitable. The transport arrangements were good as well, and the drivers in both Yangon and Bagan were very nice. But of course, your "guidance" was very important, and we appreciate it! Rest assured that if our friends go to Myanmar, we will refer them to you both.

Joyce and Francisco Dizon

07 April 2003
Dear Mr. Shein,

Just wanted to let you know that everything on our trip to Myanmar went well and that we had a wonderful time. All flights went according to schedule and we were met everywhere as arranged. The guides were knowledgeable and a pleasure to be with. The sites we saw were both interesting and beautiful. Thank you for your help and service.

We will happily recommend you to friends and colleagues. The only minor complaint we had was that the hotel at Inle Lake gave us a very poor exchange rate for Kyat:US$ - only 600, versus 850 to 1000 in Yangon or 750 outside Yangon. Again, thanks for your help and excellent service.

Roger, Cisca and Sam Bye

23 April 2003

I just want to thank you again for all your assistance in booking our Thailand trip - everything worked out really well and we have enjoyed our experiences here very much....I will certainly recommend you to others that may be interested.....thanks again...

Terry Chang and Cheryl Burlington

20 July 2003

Stephen F. Warm

Dear Shein:
I want you to know how much my wife and I enjoyed our travels in Myanmar. The great success of our tour was due to the extremely high-level of attention that you personally devoted to our needs from our very first contact with you in January to our final departure from the Yangon airport.

The tour guides were knowledgeable, professional and delightful to be with. The itinerary was superb with the wonderful treasures at Indein a real highlight of the tour. As you know, my wife and I traveled in Myanmar eight years ago. Our trip with KSSW surpassed that travel. We will certainly give you and KSSW the highest recommendation if you should like to use us for a reference


Stephen F. Warm

03 Oct 2003

Dear Mr. Shein,

We had a great time both in Cambodia and Myanmar, thank you all for the arrangements you made for us. My sister is planning to go to the same destinations in November, she will contact you next week for all the bookings and arrangements.

Best regards

Laura Ayala

03 November 2003

Dear Mr Shein,

Just a short note to thank you for the very enjoyable trip I had in Amazing Myanmar!

The logistics, hotels, guides, minivans were all as we had hoped for. The weather was great as well. I met your brother with pleasure in Yangon. So, thank you very much for having worked well and hard to make this all possible.

I will not hesitate to recommend your services to other friends, should the opportunity rise.

With Best Regards,
Jean-Francois Cousin
France (living in Bangkok)

24 Nov 2003

Dear Shein

As we promised here is our feedback about the trip you organized for us from Oct 25 to Nov 4.

First of all we would like to thank you for your professionalism throughout the trip. We really enjoyed Myanmar and all the highlignts we were advised to see. The timing and all material issues were perfect.

The hotels you booked were fine choice, and especially the Bagan Thande, Mandalay Swan for their swimming pools and the Paradise Inle resort was a really amazing experience.

We'd like also to recommand highly all our guides :

May Pearl Nyunt (Mandalay). The timing she made was very good in order to let us see the places at the right moments were the other tourists were elsewhere. that was perfect.

Zaw Win Cho (Bagan). He knows everything about Bagan and it's a pleasure to speak with him about its history.

Daw Khin Saw Mu (Lake Inle). Perfect English-speaking guide, and we enjoyed the fish restaurant she advised us.

And of course Khunn Cho Swe Yee who speaks a perfect french and with whom we've had a very nice evening. We told her she's invited in France at home if she gets the opportunity to travel to Paris.

Of course we're going to advise your agency to everyone planning to travel to Myanmar, and we'll advise Myanmar as an land of extreme beauty and hospitality.

Let us wish you good luck for you and the best possible business for your travel agency.

Best regards.

Louis & Sophie SCHMIDTLIN in behalf of the group (POTTIER / SCHMIDTLIN)

26 December 2003
Dear Shein,

Thank you very much for your services and for your help in arranging our trip to Myanmar. This turned out to be a wonderful trip - and the country is really one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. I am sure our trip was successful also due to your and your brother's assistance.

Once again, thank you and see you next time in Myanmar.

Best regards,

Kirill Babaev

27 Dec 2003
Dear Shein Lin

We want you to know that our stay at the Silver Beach Resort on Ngapali Beach was absolutely wonderful. Everything worked well, the flights were great and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. Many thanks to you and your brother for making the arrangements. We shall recommend you to our friends.

With our best wishes for a successful and healthy New Year
Sincerely yours

Heinz and Inge Jaeger

13 January 2004
Dear Mr. Shein!

WE returned Moscow Thank you very much for your assistance during our stay in Northern Thailand.

Your country is very impressive and Mr. Tommy (our guide) was very helpful Separate thanks to Chiang May's chief of KSS Wise for his air tickets finding.

So everything was OK. I would certanly recommenrd your agency to my friends, who will tour Thailand.

1. BW Bangtao beach resort (Phuket) is very nice hotel with reasonable prices! - PLS include this hotel in your proposals

2.Tao Garden (Chiang May) is unforgetible!

3. WE took boat in Mekong instead of Thaton-Ching Rai - it was right solution.

4.PLS exclude visit to the first village during jungle tour - rather hard way and nothing to see.

Best regards
Vladimir Esakov

10 Feb 2004

Thank you for a marvellous tour

Now that we are back in the midst of Canada's winter, I want to thank your company for arranging a marvellous tour of Myanmar for my group. The 10 days went without a single problem, and all guides, hotels and flight arrangements were excellent. The highlight was the trip into Chin State and the climb to Mt. Victoria summit. This was an exclusive view of an area of Myanmar that has been lightly touched by tourism, and our interactions with the local villagers produced lifelong memories. The Kampalet guesthouses, although basic, were clean and all the staff gave 110% to ensure we felt like special guests of honor(which we were, since the three of us were the only tourists there that week).

Special commendations to Mr. Zaw and his nephew Zani, our guides in Bagan and Chin State, for their attention to detail and general kindness. If you have other potential customers who would like a reference from a satisfied client, please feel free to have them contact me. Once again, my thanks to you and your brother for putting together this custom program for us. We plan to someday return to Myanmar to tour other parts of the country, and will definitely contact you to arrange our itinerary.

Ron Newton
First Vice President
Investment Advisor
CIBC Wood Gundy
Edmonton, CANADA

28 Feb 2004

Dear Mister Shein

Our trip was fabulous.I congratulate you very sincerely for the organisation of our stay wich was absolutely perfect. I will see mr Colin and his wife to night.Their programm seems to be correct.

Thanks once more
Best regards for you and mister"00"

Mr Dominique LE QUERE and Mrs Monique LE QUERE
(07 to 21 February 2004 to Myanmar)

02 March 2004

Hi Shein,

We wanted to thank you for a wonderful trip that you organized for us. We returned home last night, and are still talking about everything we saw all the time.


(Mr. Igor Stelin and Mrs. Inna Stelin from the USA, who visited Myanmar, Thailand and Cambodia from 08 to 27 February 2004)

18 April 2004

Good Morning Mr Shein,

I hope that you are well rested and have enjoyed the New Year festivities!! We would just like to send you a little note to say thank you for an excellent time in Thailand. Everything was beautifully organized and EXACTLY what we had asked for.

The guide in Bangkok was charming, kind and just perfect for us. We even managed to fit in a visit to the Flower Market - although my children did refuse to take a journey on a public bus! They loved the tuk-tuks, especially when they were driving along on the wrong side of the road!

Our guide from Kanchanaburi onwards, Mr. Nui, was superb. He was very patient with all our demands and tirelessly set about putting up and taking down tents, organizing meals and making sure every little detail was attended too. I loved talking to him and the children were full of awe at all his knowledge! What a kind man.....!

The program itself was brilliant. The campsites were excellent, the tents perfect (although I am glad that we asked for the larger size tents as I really love my space. On the second night we had Mark sleep in the ''luggage'' tent whilst Adrian and I each had our own tent. !!).

The venues for hiking were excellent although I would really have liked to spend more time in each place as the scenery was so beautiful. The highlight off course was the trek through the Nok Nang-Ann Caves in the Lam Khlong Ngu National Park. Again, this journey was perfectly judged by Mr Nui and the hiking and river crossings were exhilerating and challenging but never too scary. I think the age group of my children (12 +14) was just perfect for this journey and I would not advise people with younger children to do this same excursion. The fact that the National Park gave us two guides (plus Mr Nui) was also very reassuring and I am sure glad that Mr Nui informed himself so well that we did not set out to trek through to the other caves (where there is the big stalagmite and where everything including the river through it is in complete darkness. The 12km roundtrip journey would have been too much for us and the complete dar ness daunting. Perhaps this kind of excursion would be better suited to adults only).

As regards the meals we had along the way, everything was excellent. Just what we expected and always served with such genuine kindness by all the people concerned.

In Sangklaburi we declined the Elephant / rafting trip as we had done similar things previously in Sri Lanka etc. We were however very moved by the Hellfire Pass Museum and - again, another good idea from Mr Nui - we had a fabulous time when he collected us in the evening when we stayed at the Kasem Island Resort and took us to the local Kanchanaburi night market. We managed to shop for all our needs and did not even have to bother with any more dreaded shopping once back in Bangkok!! A personal highlight for me that evening also was to eat at the (very touristy!!) Floating Restaurant where I had dined exactly 20 years ago!

All round a fantastic experience! Have told all my friends and will direct them towards both you and Mr Nui. We are hoping to come back to Thailand too - this time with my husband and will be requesting your further kind services again, if you please.

Many thanks also for the copies of the maps for my children! We all wish you a happy Songkran and a good year ahead.

Best regards, Ria Epps and Family
(A family from Germany and the UK who are living in Qatar visited Kanchanaburi province from 08 to 12 April 2004)

26 April 2004

We had a beautiful trip in Myamnar . Everything was fine . We had nice guides good hotels and thank you for the organization. A specially felicitations for Palay the mandalay's guide a very nice girl.

Herve Colin, Lorraine Colin and Capucine Colin
(Visited Myanmar from 08 to 19 April 2004)

03 August 2004


Wanted to write and thank you for the nice tour. Everyone was wonderful. I would love to be able to tip our trek guide but they dropped us off so quickly I couldn't. I was able to tip the tour people that took us north to Chiang Rai. Any ideas?

If you ever need a recommendation, both Koen and I would be more than glad to give it.

Thanks for everything.

Karl Krupp

(Karl Krupp from the US and Koen Van Rompay from Belgian - 24 to 31 July 2004 trek and tour in northern Thailand)

25 August 2004

Dear Shein,

Thank you so much for organizing our trip to Myanmar. Both William and I enjoyed it very much. We enjoyed our trip especially in Inle Lake. Our tour guide Swe is very creative and filled in our two free days with adventures. We took a boat to Sankar village. We also enjoyed Ann's Restaurant much better than Nampan village restaurant. Ann also has a hotel which has a lot of charms. Perhaps you may wish to contact her for your business relations.

(From China and France, visited Myanmar from 15 to 22 August 2004)

25 Oct 2004

Dear Mr. Shein,

Finally I am back to Israel.
I would like to thank you very much for the perfect organization of the tour in Laos. All people were very satisfied from the tour. We have very nice guide, Samphon. All places we are visited, were beautiful. May be we had to stay one more day in Tad Lo, but I even didn't know about this place before. That was good advice.

I hope to continue work with you in future.
Many thanks and best regards,
(9 people from Russia and Israel visited Laos from 25 September to 04 October 2004: Chiang Mai, Luang Prabang, Vang Vieng, Vientiane, Pakse, Khong islands, Tadlo, to Thailand from Chong Mek border pass)

27 Oct 2004

Hi Shein

Thanks for arranging a great trip, A Jor was an excellent guide and we all had a fantastic time. I will send you copies of the article in Sawasdee magazine when it comes out in February next year.

Best regards
(5 people including a writer and a photographer of Thai Airway's Sawasdee magazine traveled to Umphang, Ti Lo Su waterfall, Ban Kotha, Ban Platha and Pueng Klueng Karen villages from 22 to 25 Oct 2004)

14 Nov 2004

I received more then full value for the price and I appreciate all that your outstanding guides did for me. I intend to help you get more business after I return to the US and after I catch up on my work.

Thank You---You are an outstanding travel agent.
Richard A. Wildermuth
(Chiang Mai - Yangon - Mandalay - Bagan - Yangon - Bangkok, from 07 to 13 Nov 2004)

19 Dec 2004

Dear Shein-

My wife and I want to thank you for your help in organizing our trip to SouthEast Asia this November. Everyhting was great and went smoothly, we really enjoyed the places that we visited (especially Myanmar- this was our favorite). Thank you for helping us. We would not hesiate to recommend you to our friends,

Alex and Natalya Noy
They visited Thailand (Bangkok, Krabi), Angkor Wat in Cambodia; and Yangon and Bagan in Myanmar - from 12 to 25 Nov 2004.

25 Feb 2005

Dear Mr Shein,

My husband and I want to thank you for putting together an unforgettable 8-days trip itinerary for us in Myanmar. We didn't expect to get such a great personalised service from you!

The hotels are superb, with great views, clean comfortable rooms and lots of character. We liked especially Thiripyitsaya Sakura in Bagan, beautiful!

All transportations and internal flights arrangements couldn't have been any better. Our guides and drivers are very good, friendly and knowledgable, took really good care of us even to the smallest details. Thanks to Momo in Yangon who smiled all the time; and especially to Mr Tin Shein in Bagan who was excellent - gave us lots of insights and detailed information or backgrounds and history of the temples, surronding areas and the way of life of the local people and in the monasteries. Mr Tin also took us to the best places to enjoy the amazing sunsets in Bagan, away from other tourists! During the trip we became more like friends. It was really great.

Myanmar trully is one of the most beautiful country we've ever visited. The people are friendly and creative. Workmanship of handicrafts, such as the lacquerware, are amazing!

Thank you so much again, we will highly recommend your company to our friends, and will definitely use your services again when we return to your beautiful country - next time we'll take our family and make sure have more cash to shop for the lacquerware! We felt like we've received so much more than what already a good value package - great personalised service and new friends. Warm regards to Mr U Shein in Yangon, Momo, Mr Tin Shein and Tone the driver in Bagan.

(Yangon, Mandalay, Bagan. From 5 to 12 February 2005)

12 March 2005

This is a thank-you letter to tell you how professional and informative your tour company was for us. We really appreciated the careful manner with which you have chosen your guides. We found our accommodation superb and the program that you arranged for us was excellent. Thank you for your very careful attention to detail and your correspondence with us. We had a wonderful trip.We would not hesitate to recommend your services to other travellers.
Sincere thanks,

Neil and Heather Mckay
(Siem Reap in Cambodia - Yangon, Bagan and Inle lake from 28 February to 09 March 2005)

14 March 2005

Dear Shein,

I promised you to let you know how the trekking was. Well we had a really good time. We enjoyed the camping and the company of our guides a lot. They spoke English very well, they had a great sense of humor and they prepared wonderful food. There eyes discovered animals we would never have seen ourselves.

The days we spend at morning mist resort we had lovely Thai food and we felt really welcome.

We recommend these people and this trip to other travelers. The only minor thing is that we expected the trekking to be more difficult. We didn’t really go of the beaten track and the walks were easier than expected. But again this was a minor thing.

Thank you for planning the trip and we wish you lots of success with your company.

Gr. Martijn and Friends
(Four gentlemen from Netherlands who trekked in Khao Sok national park from 21 to 26 February 2005)

27 April 2005

Hello Shein,

We are all back in France with many souvenirs…. We spent a wonderful holiday in Thailand and the treck was unforgettable. Hope you are ok too.

A big thank you to you for all the organization, it was fantastic and authentic. Many thanks to you. We will recommend this activity to all our friends in France.

One more thing to ask please : We would very much appreciate if you could send the pictures you have. (ours are not good at all :very dark).

Hope this is possible ?

Kind regards,

(Four people: parents and their two children aged 11 and 13 went for a night home stay in Kiriwong village, and 3 days 2 nights climb to Khao Luang mountain - 1835 meters above sea level which is the highest in southern Thailand - 11 to 15 April 2005)

05 December 2005

Dear Misters Shein,

I'm sorry it has taken me so long to send you this email but I returned to Amman with a case of giardia which I'm only now recovering from.

Thank you for organizing a wonderful trip for us to Myanmar. The hotels were excellent, air transfers went smoothly, flights were on time except on our last day from Heho to Yangon and that was due to fog and our warm and friendly guides especially Mr. Zaw Win Cho in Bagan and Mrs. Daw Khin Saw Mu (Evelyn) in Inle Lake. Arriving in Bagan by ferry on the Ayeyarwaddy River in late afternoon and then watching the sunset over Bagan was pure magic for many of us. Full moon celebration at Shwezegon Pagoda the next day was another highlight. Our air balloon flight over Bagan was a first class operation. When we didn't think it could get any better we were met with sunsets at Inle Lake and the wonderful company of Ms. Evelyn.

I do have two suggestions that would enhance the fine tour we were on. The first one is on the ferry from Mandalay to Bagan. We noticed there were 2 sets of 4 seats each in the front of the dining area that you could reserve it would have been wonderful to have had these seats instead of the enclosed area below deck. The second suggestion is to allow at least 2 hours check-in time for International flight departing Yangon. Mr. Shein in Yangon and our guide Sandra were not allowed into the departure area to assist us in obtaining our boarding passes. The scene we found was one of chaos. We did notice there were a few expeditors helping their tour groups and it would've been nice to have had this assistance. These two details I've added would only make a wonderful trip even better.

I would not hesitate to recommend Asterism Tours to my friends. I hope some day to have the opportunity to return to Myanmar with my family. Myanmar is a country of extraordinary people and beauty.

Warm regards,
Kathy Kuencer

(Six ladies from the USA, Sri Lanka and Canada to Yangon, Mandalay, Bagan, Inle and back to Yangon from 11 to 20 November 2005)

26 Dec 2005

Dear Shein,
We'd like to thank you for a fantastic trek in Khao Yai last week. Judy, Elaine and I really enjoyed every minute of it. It was interesting, adventurous and a really special experience to be able to spend two nights right in the forest. It was amazing to see how well the rangers knew the forest and how they were able to set up camp so easily and adapt to the surroundings - and what beautiful surroundings, Kaho Yai is a special place. It was very nice to get to know you as well, - thanks for your help, organisation, conversation and translating. I hope things continue to go well for Trek Thailand, and I hope you trip to Laos is a success.

Once again many thanks and best wishes,
Simon, Judy and Elaine
(from the UK, trekking and camping in Khao Yai national park 18 to 20 Dec 2005)

19 March 2006

Hi Shein,

I wanted to write to tell you how much we enjoyed our trip to Umphang and the Karen villages. Everything was arranged well for our group and it was an amazing experience.

One of the best parts of our trip was the company. I never thought we'd have an opportunity to converse with the village leaders and their families. Thank you for offering to translate and give us the opportunity to make this human connection. We also appreciate all the knowledge and insight to the local villages and the wildlife, your sensitivity to the impact tourism has had on the native cultures and the ecology, and lastly, the warmhearted accommodation and never-ending humor of our local guide, Khun Ajor. We felt like we were among friends.

We only hope that we can return to Thailand for more unforgettable adventures with you in the future. If any of our friends ever want to visit that part of the world, we will definitely recommend contacting you.


Ivy and Bill Lee
San Leandro, California, USA
(four people family from the USA: 07 to 11 Feb 2006 Bangkok - Umphang - Ti Lo Su waterfall - Ban Thi Po Gyi - Ban Maung Kua - and back)

24 Feb 2007

Hi Shein!

Just to let you know, everything went smoothly after you left! The trek up the thi lor su waterfall was a really great experience for all of us, challenging yet really enjoyable as well. The view from the very top was very amazing as well!

Overall, we'd like to thank you for organising this for us, and it must have taken some time to organise something suitable as there were many changes of plans due to all the requirements we had for NYAA. We're putting together a CD of all the pictures we took( altogether we took quite a number of pictures) . All of us would like to send it to you along with something else to show our thanks so if you could give us a suitable address to send to?

Once again, many thanks for the wonderful experience you organised for us! The scenery was fantastic, the guides were very helpful and friendly and it really was a fun and exciting adventure for every single one of us!

Hope to hear from you soon

Many Thanks

Juen Li
(7 people international students and teacher group: Ban Platha - Kotha waterfall - Thilosu waterfall and to the road trek and camping from 18 to 21 Feb 2007)

30 Oct 2007

Dear Shein

First of all I want to thank you for an amazing and an unforgettable experience we've ever had!

We enjoyed every single place and every activity that was included in it track, such like the rafting, the hard and challenging walking, the view, the waterfall, sleeping in the tents, the elephants and the village that we've been at on the third day.

Although we complained a lot and were exhausted, there is no single one of us that didn't enjoy or didn't want to go back to that trip again without exception!

We learned a lot of new things, experienced different activities and saw wonderful phenomenon of Thailand's amaizing nature.

The entire warm and kindness treatments that we've got from the guiders and from you were extending and very helpful.

You were satisfied our needs, and we are really appreciate you're help and you're unending giving!

The combining of those five guiders was excellent, we felt that all of them did their best for us and it made and gave us a feeling of safety and secure.

In that opportunity I want to raise and recommend Ajor which is an amazing guy, he really thought us a lot of things that we didn't know before of the jungle and of life generally, and took a big part in making this trip something unusual.

After the track we haven't stopped talking about it even until now! We remember every little thing we did and keep the bamboo's cups and spoons as a memento.

Be sure that I will recommend and publish this track in Israel.

To sum up it was a pleasure for us to take part in this trip I and my family really enjoyed to meet great people like you! I'm sure that we will never forget you…

All of us wishing you all the best and good luck in what ever you'll do, thank you very much!

Tomorrow I will send the pictures and the video that I took from the track to the address that you gave me.

Ronen Shaharabani
(11 people from Israel who made a trip in Umphang: white water rafting, camping, Thilorsu waterfall visit, jungle trek, Palatha karen village stay from 23 to 26 September 2007)

18 March 2008

Hi Shein,

We are already back to Hamburg two days ago. I would like to thank you again for this adventurous and full of nature trip. And thank you that we had a chance to get to know the other in our groups. They are all very nice and freindly people. Pls. do tell them that we miss them and are impressed of their hospitality. We will send you some of the photos soon.

At the moment Hamburg is still cold but sunny. This coming weekend is Easter Holidays. We will have this Friday and next Monday off. We have jet lag and are always tired. We may need at least some days to be in turn again.

We wish you all the best for your future. We really like the way you organise the trip. It is unique.

Take care
(3 people from Germany from a trek in Um Phang: Thilorsu waterfall, Thipogyi Karen village, Bamboo rafting on Mae Klong river to Thilor Lay waterfall, and walk to Platha village - from 29 Feb to 04 March 2008)

05 Jan 2009

The quintessential introduction to Laos: a private slow boat down the Mekhong with historical, cultural, and natural commentary to add flavour and context to the visual. K. Shein was an enthusiastic and solicitous guide who jumped at any opportunity to expose his clients to the local populace, flora, and fauna. Well conceived and executed, it was a satisfying way to learn about and experience Laos. From Chiang Rai to Luang Prabang, at least.

Edger Ampil
(A member of five people team from the Philippines and the US who travelled from Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong in northern Thailand to Luang Prabang by slow boat on the Mekong river during 06 to 10 August 2008. They spent two nights along the river while cruising from Houixai, Pakbeng to Luang Prabang)

15 Aug 2009

Hi Shein,

We just got back from the tour, and we just wanted to let you know that we had a fantastic time! Jor was absolutely great-- he took good care of us and made sure we had a lot of fun! Please send along our thanks to the whole group in Umphang, and thanks again to you for all of your help!

University of Michigan
(Two persons from the US, 12 to 15 August 2009 hiking, camping and hilltribe village hut stay in Umphang, Thailand)

12 Oct 2009

Dear Shein,

Just got back from my trip. Thank you so much for the wonderful experience you made possible to realize. I truly had a fantastic trek with Chan in the jungle. Totally above my expectations - I expected the worse but it was amazing. Chan is a great person with his broad knowledge about nature and its wonders and the hike we undertook was just perfect. From the bottom of my heart: Thank you!

Best regards,


(Single person from the US - Mae Hong Son 4 days 3 nights mountain hiking, wilderness camp and village stay)

19 Jan 2010

Dear Shein,

We are now at the Bangkok airport.

I just wanted to thank you again for making possible another wonderful trip to Myanmar.

The itinerary, hotels, transportantion were again prefectly arranged.

We want to thank you (and our guide, Mg Mg Myint) for anticipating our desires and needs. As usual, plans were able to be modified as we went along to enhance our trip.

We wanted to learn more of the life of people in Myanmar and the trip certainly accomplished that superbly.

It's hard to know waht we liked best as it was all so interesting - Yangon with the trip across the river, different markets, etc.; Sittwe & Mrauk U - very different; Bagan again, including Salay & the Chauk market; and or course the more varied beach at Ngwe Saung. Having very few (if any) other foreign tourists at places we visited makes for a special trip.

Again, thank you again so much. We look forward to our third trip to Myanmar in the future.

Lesley & Steve
P.S. Please feel free to use us as referneces.

(2 repeating guests from the US to Myanmar/Burma from 02 to 19 Jan 2010: Yangon, Twantee; Sittwe & Mrauk U in northern Rakhine state; Ngwe Saung beach, Mandalay, Bagan)

23 Jan 2010

Hi Shein,

Glad to hear you are back home safely. It takes a while to get back in the old routine again. We arrived home here in Margaret River on Wednesday and are still getting sorted. It is a bit warmer here than in Vancouver - we have had a heat wave with temperatures about 40C!!!!

Thank you so much for organising such a wonderful trip for us down the Mekong. It was just so special because we were able to do it as our own group with you and Sin as our guides. The accommodation on the way was superb and everything just worked so well. We have wonderful memories and so many photos to edit now!!!! Hopefully we will be up in Perth on the weekend of 6th Feb and plan to get together with the others and sort out some photos for you. The rest of our holiday went off very well and we all enjoyed the island hopping in southern Thailand.

Hopefully we can organise another trip with you sometime to other parts of Laos or to Myanmar. We will keep in touch.

Good luck with your life in Canada and thank you once again for making our holiday so special.

Best wishes,
Steve and Vere

(8 Australians private group to Laos by Mekong river slow boat from northern Thailand: Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong, Houixai, Pakbeng, Kamu Lodge, Luang Prabang between 30 Dec 2009 and 05 Jan 2010)

24 Jan 2010

Hi Shein

Back home safely, after a fantastic holiday. I am sure that I speak for everyone when I say that Laos was the highlight of our trip and that you made it so by turning up from your hospital bed and ensuring that everything worked smoothly. If they ever hand out medals for tour guides, we are putting your name forward.

Nice to know that you are reading physics again, but don’t let that distract you from thinking about our next exciting holiday!

When we have finally sorted out the photos we will send you a couple. I ended up dropping my camera in the ocean in Thailand. The camera is now a total write off, but fortunately the photographs are OK, so the memories of the Mekong are going to be re-lived for years to come.

Best wishes

(Ian Culbert, from the above Australian group)

Note the same group went with us again to central Laos - Hinboun river valley from 29th Dec 2011 to 4th Jan 2012.

27 Jan 2011

Dear Mr. Shein Linn Oo,

Bruce, my husband and I want to thank you for organizing our recent trip to Myanmar.

We were extremely happy with the trip and all of the hotels you booked for us. We had excellent guides. I would like to make special mention of Mr. Zo Win Cho in Bagan and Mr. Tu Tu in Inle Lake. Both were very enthusiastic , well informed and very professional. It was great to meet with your brother again, both upon our arrival in Yangon on Jan. 8th and again upon our return from Inle Lake on Jan. 16th. We were sorry we did not get to meet you this trip. We would certainly continue to recommend your travel services to others and look forward to contacting you again for any future trips to South East Asia.

Jennifer and Bruce McPherson.
[They together with friends (below) went to travel in Myanmar/Burma in Jan 2011]

16 Feb 2011

Mr. Shein, we are back in Ottawa and enjoying a little winter weather. We did, however, appreciate not being here during January.

I wanted to let you know that we enjoyed our travel experience immensely and will definitely be recommending your services to our friends. Please confirm your exact coordinates, such as email address, company name, etc.

I also want to give you some feedback that may help you plan travel for other customers. Every detail you arranged worked out perfectly.

Chiang Mai - the Chiang Mai Gate hotel was in a good location; we walked throughout the old city easily. It doesn't have the character of others and very much focused on Chinese travellers, however, it was acceptable.

It has been 30 years since we visited Chiang Mai, and the city has changed! We had only one day and were glad to be moving on the Mae Hong Son. Mae Hong Son - the highlight was our guide, Khun Jon and, as you had mentioned, he is very knowledgeable in botany. Also, he took us to less touristic places and avoided places like the Karen village women. We were glad to avoid the embarrassment of staring at people who are different than us.

The Baiyoke Chalet was in a great central location, however, we were disappointed with the room. We walked past 2 rooms that were definitely more superior than ours - larger with an updated bathroom.

We had no problem spending four days in Mae Hong Son, with the combination of day trips to the surrounding areas plus 2 days in the city to enjoy the sights and eat tasty foods.

Chiang Mai to Chiang Khong - Khun Uthai met us at the airport and we left immediately for the trip north. The next day he helped us get through Thai immigration and get a ferry to Laos border. He was confused once we got to Laos as he thought that a Laos agent was going to meet us. Luckily he found Mr. Sinh and we were able to get visas, board the long boat and depart. During the trip, Khun Uthai realized that he was holding our Laos airline tickets and the voucher for the hotel in Luang Prabang - so no problems.

We enjoyed immensely the long boat trip. It was very relaxing, with lots of room. Mr. Sinh's wife cooked delicious meals; Mr. Sinh was very pleasant. We felt like royalty.

Pakbeng - the hotel was superb and we enjoyed the river view from the second floor. The meals were tasty. The elephant trek was OK but we weren't sure it was good value for money. I would suggest people pass on that, continue down the river and arrange a elephant trek from Luang Prabang.

Luang Prabang - the Sala Prabang was superb, although the river view location was noisy at times. It is a wonderful example of good restoration and tasteful decorating.

Vientaine - the Sala Inpeng hotel was in a good location - close to the airport. There were a lot of mosquitoes, however. They kindly served breakfast on the balcony early in the morning because of our early departure.

Siem Reap - the driver who met us offered, for a good price, to take us to some tourist sights that afternoon (e.g. Lake Tonle floating village) and then to drive us to the main Angkor Wat sites the next day. That arrangement worked well.

The Allson Angkor Paradise hotel was in a good location to walk to the night market and a variety of restaurants. We also enjoyed having a swim after a long day of touring.

If you would like to use me as a reference, please do not hesitate to contact me. I would be pleased to pass on my advice based on our first hand experience. Thank you again for making our experience so memorable.

Wishing you much business for 2011, fondest regards,

Victoria McTaggart
[They and their two friends (above) went to Burma with www.asterism.info , and then they continued the Asian holidays in Thailand, Laos and Cambodia with us]

21 Jan 2012

Hi Shein,

Steve and I just want to thank you for organising our trip along the Hinboun river. It was good to catch up again. We had a wonderful experience especially going through the two caves. We would never have found those on our own and you gave us the opportunity to go. It was good to take the stationary to the schools and hopefully the other things we sent from Vientiane and Luang Prabang reached them. We can only trust those involved to get them there. It is good for all of us to see how the poor in Laos live and appreciate the lives we have in Australia and realise how priveleged we are.

Please keep in touch and hopefully we can organise a trip to Myanmar in a year or two's time and some time we would all like to redo the trip on the Mekong that we did last time.

Again thanks for all you organised.

Steve and Vere
[Repeat group from Australia came back again for central Laos trip in Hinboun river valley, from 29th Dec 2011 to 4th Jan 2012]

31 Jan 2012

Dear Shein,

thanks for your inquiry. I also wanteded to write you, but I did not find the time, I had to do with the course. Now we are back again. The trip was went very well, the boat was great, beven better than last time, we enjoyed the tables. The the guide, boatman and his wife were very helpful and friendly. The guesthouses in Pakpeng were o.k.., the guesthouse in Chiang Kong was quiet nice, the only thing which was a littlt pitty that you could not really see the river because of the trees. (not really a Problem). All the transfers you organized were perfect.

So everything was great, thanks a lot for your service.

Best regards
Rainer and Helmut
[Repeat team of part-time artists, this time 21 peoples, from Europe travelling on the Mekong river between northern Thailand and Luang Prabang from 17th Jan to 20th Jan 2012]

09 March 2013

Dear Shein Brothers and U Zaw Win Cho,

We have just returned to Bangkok and wanted to thank you for a truly wonderful trip to Chin State. Everything went better than we could have imagined.

We were especially impressed by our guide, U Kyi Soe San, who was not only very informative and efficient, but a great travelling companion. We learned a great deal from him, not just about Chin State but about life in Burma in general. Our driver was also excellent -- an a rare species in Asia: very safe on the road. We recommend both of them without any reservations to anyone coming to the Bagan area or Chin State.

This is our second trip with you and it won’t be the last. We are definitely still eager to go to Putao.

Very best for now!

Denis and Sarah

[02 to 08 March 2013 trip to southern Chin state from Bagan]

Photos essays, field reports - adventure, minority culture, beautiful life & environment
Pictures & information of unique travels in - Thailand | Laos
Salawin river, Mae Hong Son province, northern Thailand
Hike & Hilltribe village homestay to Salawin river, Mae Hong Son

Thai English Translator, Editor, Teacher/tutor : Physics & Math Tutoring, Education, Rural development